Markku Johansson Competition in Composition and Arrangement attracts participants from all over the world:


The competition launched by the Vantaa Pops Orchestra last autumn closed on Friday 15 June. It attracted a huge number of top quality compositions and arrangements from five continents.

The competition received 47 compositions and 28 arrangements from almost 20 countries in Europe, Asia, North America, South America and Australia. Most European countries are represented, as well as a number of countries from further afield, such as Iran, Brazil, Japan, China and the US.

“The standard of the entries is high, and the participants include both fresh faces and well-known professionals with long careers. The materials are quite varied and include even some experimental music”, explains Jussi Lampela, the Competition Secretary.

“The competition strengthens the role of the Vantaa Pops Orchestra as a forerunner in the Finnish musical field. It also provides us with plenty of new material.”

The jury will choose 12 finalists from the competition entries to receive their world premiere at the Competition Concert on 17 September. During the event it will also be decided how the prize money of 18 000 euros will be divided among the presented works in the two competition categories. The concert will be conducted by Nick Davies.

The Competition in Composition and Arrangement named after Markku Johansson forms a part of the 70th anniversary program of the Vantaa Pops Orchestra. The competition jury includes Hans Ek (Sweden), Markku Johansson, Jaakko Kuusisto and Antti Rissanen.

You can find the previously published information here.

Vantaa Pops Orchestra is the most diverse full symphony orchestra in Finland. Its players are among the top musicians in rock, classical music, and jazz. Its principal conductor, Nick Davies, has worked with several well-known symphony orchestras around the world. 

Further details:

General Manager Janne Rönnbäck
0400 780 770

Competition Secretary Jussi Lampela
+358 50 558 03 86


Press release 20.6.2018
For immediate release



Press release 15.2.2018